Kavi Guru Express & Vivek Express Trains to be Launched to Mark the 150th Birth Anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore & Swami Vivekananda

To commemorate the 150th birth anniversary of Kavi Guru Rabindranath Tagore this year, the Minister of Railways Mamata Banerjee has announced the introduction of Kavi Guru Express Trains to pay homage to the great poet.  Presenting the Railway Budget for 2011-12 in the Lok Sabhatoday, the Railway Minister said that Kavi Guru Express Trains will run on the following routes:

  1. Howrah-Azimganj Express (daily) via Sagardighi
  2. Guwahati-Jaipur Express (weekly) via Kasganj-Faizabad-Gorakhpur-Kokrajhar
  3. Howrah-Bolpur Express (daily)
  4. Howrah-Porbander Express (weekly)

The Minister also announced that the new trains called “Vivek Express” will be introduced to mark the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda which will be celebrated in 2013.  The first four such trains will be introduced on the following routes:

  1. Dibrugarh-Thiruvananthapuram-Kanniyakumari Express (weekly) via Kokrajhar
  2. Dwarka-Tuticorin Express (weekly) via Wadi
  3. Howrah-Mangalore Express (weekly) via Palghat
  4. Bandra(T)-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via Marwar-Degana-Ratangarh-Jakhal-Ludhiana
Print Friendly

About the author

More posts by



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment



× two = 2


Chief Editor

Executive Editor

Latest News Updates Globe FaceBook FaceBook check pr
Google Groups
Subscribe to indiacurrentaffairs
Visit Indiacurrentaffairs group

వార్తలూ వ్యాఖ్యలూ