Registration of NRIs in Electoral Roll

The Election Commission has intimated that a total of 10,029 overseas electors have been enrolled so far in all States/ Union Territories.  Further, list of overseas electors is not maintained according to the country of their residence. Names of overseas electors are enrolled in the part of the roll pertaining to the locality in which his place of residence in Indiamentioned in their passport is located.  The country of temporary residence of overseas electors can keep changing from time to time.  The details of Overseas electors are as under:


Name of the State Number of Overseas electors Name of the State Number of Overseas electors
Goa 18 Sikkim 1
Gujarat 1 Tamil Nadu 42
Haryana 3 Uttarakhand 7
Himachal Pradesh 2 Uttar Pradesh 1
Kerala 9838 West Bengal 3
Madhya Pradesh 1 Daman and Diu 3
Maharashtra 3 NCT of Delhi 2
Punjab 70 Pudcherry 42


Giving this information in written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha, Shri Salman Khurshid, Minister of Law & Justice, said that further, total number of overseas electors who cast their votes in the last assembly elections in five states is as follows: Punjab-12, Uttar Pradesh-0, Uttarakhand-0, Manipur-0 and Goa-1. Any alternate mode of voting to the ‘overseas electors’ has not been envisaged for the present.

Print Friendly

About the author

More posts by



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment



five − = 2


Chief Editor

Executive Editor

Latest News Updates Globe FaceBook FaceBook check pr
Google Groups
Subscribe to indiacurrentaffairs
Visit Indiacurrentaffairs group

వార్తలూ వ్యాఖ్యలూ


Recent Posts